Blender Envy

If you don’t feel like reading my ramblings today the gist is: go sell your vitamix and buy a blendtec. Just do it. I did and I couldn’t be happier. The moment I saw the blendtec at Costco, I knew I had blender envy. Sure my vitamix was a nice blender but was it everything I thought it should be? Not really.

There are so many reasons why I love my blendtec 10 millions times more than I liked the vitamix. But, I’ll start with the money conscious one. The blendtec is about $100 cheaper. The warranty is different- only 5 years vs lifetime. However, the use I’ll get out of my blendtec in one year probably triples that that I got out of the vitamix in the 3 years I had it. Selling my vitamix, I got enough to pretty much cover a new blendtec which came with an extra blending jar.

Next, the blendtec is electronic. The vitamix basically has two settings: on, off. The blendtec, on the other hand, has about 6 or so and they’re set and forget. You put your ingredients in, push the button and come back when the blender goes off. You make smoothies, sauces, and soups this way. It’s quick easy and brainless. Great for a mama who’s constantly being pulled in ten different directions and doesn’t always have time to babysit the blender.

No more arm workout. Now, don’t get me wrong. I should probably spend some more time at the gym and Americans *are* pretty lazy, so anything that gives you an incidental workout is a good thing. But, I hated and I mean hated, trying to mash everything into the vitamix to get it to blend properly and often found that my babyfood had a chunk of food in it that didn’t quite manage to get mashed down. With the blendtec, the motion of the blades somehow creates a vortex that pulls the food down. I’m not exactly sure how it works, but my arm isn’t complaining about the switch.

Cleaning. Anything to make cleaning easier. And, now I guess maybe you can do this with the vitamix, it just never occurred to me. It said right on the little jar insert that came with our blendtec to add water a tiny bit of soap and turn it on for a couple seconds and presto- clean blender. So, everytime I use it. I rinse it and do this and crystal clean blender no scrubbing required.

I just opened it last week (and then we promptly got the stomach flu though the two things aren’t related =), and I’ve already made smoothies and several kinds of baby food. I’m really not sure what else I can say about it. Go buy one. Bianca thinks you should, she sure enjoyed the brussel sprouts that came out of it last night!

 

Leave a Reply

