Crockin’ It

A couple weeks ago I tried a new recipe: Crockpot Chicken and Dumplings. I took the basic recipe and changed it a bit. It was creamy, rich, and delicious. Here’s what I did:

4 chicken breasts
1 can cream of chicken soup
1 can cream of potato soup
water or chicken broth to cover chicken and potatoes
potatoes- chunks
onion- chopped
celery- chopped
carrots- chunks
pepper to taste
one can of refrigerated biscuits cut in half

Place chicken and potatoes in bottom of crockpot and cover in soup. Add pepper and spices to taste. I used a small amount of organic no salt seasoning (basically italian herbs I believe) to taste as well. Turn on low for about 6 hours. When there’s about 2 hours left, add celery and carrots. With about an hour- hour and a half left arrange biscuits on top of chicken. Cover and cook on high for last hour to slightly brown the biscuits.

I believe cooking the biscuits slightly less time then others have recommended makes them more like biscuits and less mushy like dumplings. I really liked it that way though. I didn’t include amounts for most of the stuff because you can use as much or little as you like.  It was so good and everyone loved it. You can really use any vegetables you want but I really liked it with fresh veggies.

Here was the result:

Even the baby cleaned her “plate.” =) I love our crockpot and it’s amazing the quick, easy, recipes that make such great tasting meals!

Leave a Reply

