40 Days of Fasting from Junk

It’s that time of year again when I start reflecting on what I can do to be more present in my life and less distracted by well…everything. The main culprits are Facebook and material crap that seems to appear all over my house. Things collected at holidays and birthday parties or when I was feeling like maybe I needed to buy this amazing item before someone else did and it was lost to me forever (reminder very little is one of a kind and there will always be another deal- these two philosophies have helped a lot over the last year and my collecting of junk has diminished greatly).

Lately, I have been decluttering different areas at random but I still have so much stuff! So when I saw a post on Facebook about 40 bags in 40 days, I saw it as an opportunity to work on decluttering my life. I think it’s going to take more than 40 bags and more than 40 days but it’s a start!

Today, I woke up after a certain 10 month old decided not to sleep more than 30 minutes at a time and a certain 32 year old woke up throwing up. This did not seem promising for my goal of getting at least one small area cleared today. However, I still managed to tackle the foyer table/cabinet, the junk cabinet in the kitchen, and I cleared out a couple articles of clothing from my closet. It wasn’t much but it’s a start.

IMG_0697

Before the world ended last night, I did manage to make myself a room by room list of areas to declutter and goals for each room. I have high hopes for this being a fruitful lent for me with limited Facebook time and less clutter to distract me from the important things in life!

IMG_0625

*****Are you interested in learning more about decrapifying your life? Go here to read about the project that inspired my own 40 bags!*****

3 thoughts on “40 Days of Fasting from Junk

  1. Lord knows I need to declutter!
    I’ve been pretty good in the past 6 months or so of not BRINGING the junk into the house, but it’s getting rid of the junk that was already here.

    I feel like it would be easier to just pack up all the stuff I need and move, leaving the junk behind!

    Your kids are looking as adorable as ever, Jamie. Good luck with your decluttering!

    • Thanks! It’s actually been a lot of fun..wow I’m getting old when I think organizing and cleaning are fun. But, there it is. Having a baby really took it out of me this time but I’m finally getting back into my groove again!

      I know exactly what you mean about just starting over. But, the more I think about the potential of my house the more I remember what I loved about it in the first place!

Leave a Reply

