The next best thing..

To decluttering??? Recluttering…with amazing deals on really cool stuff.

So, for some reason, Facebook fasting and thrift store/antique hunting seem to go hand in hand. Though to be fair, this year the antiquing preceded the reduction of Facebook time. But here I am with an itch to get my hands on a new project (like I needed one with my current bathroom renovation and plans to update our kitchen/living room). As such, I’ve been spending a lot of time in thrift stores and little flea markets. It doesn’t hurt that I live in old awesome people land where little antique shops abound and even the run of the mill thrift stores are brimming with treasures.

Today, I was taking bags to the thrift store from day 3 in my 40 day decluttering challenge (don’t worry I have pictures for another post on another day for that) and I noticed a tiny little red school desk sitting outside just waiting for a homeschooler to snatch it up. They wanted $15, I offered $10. It’s now in the back of my van. Well, at least I got rid of a closet full of random junk before buying something new- to me. And, it has a purpose. Win so far. Here’s where I got myself in trouble- when I decided I was in the mood to browse the thrift stores on the way to stations of the cross.

That’s where I found this.

IMG_0721

For $200 $150. I looked at it for a few minutes. Sent J a text saying how cool it was but way too huge. Then, I went to casually ask if it was half price since it had a red line through the original price. Nope, but they’d see if the seller would be willing to take less for it. They came back at $125. I said nah I didn’t need it- too much. But, as I was walking around the place next door and buying this

IMG_0729

(It’s pristine inside for $7. If you’ve seen the tattered ones at the local emporium for $30 you’d understand my excitement. This is old random suitcase #2 for me- ask me why? I don’t know.)

I was still thinking about the hutch. I love it. I called back to the other place and offered $100- they took it…I should have offered $75 🙂 but really at $125 it was a steal so $100 it is. Now, what to do with it? I’m sure the dark wood is someone’s style right? But, not mine. I’m a little nervous to paint it though. There is something beautiful about the dark wood (and it is wood not veneer). What would you do??

While you ponder that, let me show you a couple of my other great finds lately.

IMG_0655

This chandelier was my Valentine’s Day present from J this year and will be hanging above my soaking tub because everyone needs a vintage chandelier in their bathroom (now so glad I didn’t buy that one on clearance from lowes a couple months ago!!)

IMG_0648

This awesome funky lantern that will be going in my redecorated family room- it’s even more awesome when the light shines through it. It still works but this gem is definitely vintage and the wiring shows it so rewiring it is on J’s “honey do list.”

IMG_0645

I found this worn chest in the “as is” room at the Strasburg emporium (have you been there? No. It’s a must go to for antiquing- it can be pricey but I’ve scored many a deal there). It said $15. I offered $10 and got it for $13.50.

(Side note: Can you tell I like to haggle? I got it from my Daddy- he use to take me to negotiate for a huge live Christmas tree every Christmas Eve- one year he (jokingly) scolded me for being over eager about a tree because it messed up his ability to get the price down. I cried. But, I learned a valuable lesson about negotiating prices and it’s a very very fond memory.)

Anyway, back to the chest. I have no idea what I’m going to do with it but…for $13.50 I couldn’t say no. It needs a little TLC but I think it will be a really cool piece to go with my random eclectic decorating style.

A few last things that I didn’t buy but I kind of wish I did.

IMG_0723

IMG_0724-0

IMG_0726

IMG_0728

IMG_0725

There are a couple of things I’m thinking of going back for like the little wood flower pictures. Okay, J thinks they’re pretty, you know, except for the whole wood thing (face palm). But, mostly I’m sitting here wondering what to do with the hutch? I’m not the type to display pretty plates and stuff so I intend to use it as functional (semi-functional?) storage. Maybe a book case with toy storage underneath? And, to paint it with chalk paintor maybe it’s time to test out milk paint?? And what color? I can’t wait to see what I decide 🙂

One thought on “The next best thing..

Leave a Reply

