Mozarella Filled Meatloaf Cupcakes

  Ah, what a day. The girls (and baby M) and I had a nice day doing..wait for it…nothing. I mean we homeschooled and ate meals and read a Zoobook. We cleaned up after the last homeschool co-op of the year that we hosted yesterday. But, we didn’t go anywhere- not even to play on the play set because it rained all day. It was wonderful, glorious, magnificent. I didn’t even take a shower until J called to say he was on his way home at almost 5 pm. 

At that point, the girls and I had just begun project make them baby carriers because, you know, A mentioned she wanted one and well, I have hoards of fabric so it should be good for something right? I decided I’d better throw something together for dinner quick and settled on meatloaf “volcanoes.” I was just discussing with my co-op ladies how I love to adjust recipes when I’m cooking. My mom almost never followed a recipe, and she passed on the talent to me. It makes cooking so much more enjoyable and frankly easier- don’t have an ingredient? Sub in something else. Want to jazz something up? There’s a spice or a sauce for that. Back to my meatloaf cupcakes- They’re delicious- everyone had seconds and even the baby who hadn’t eaten much solid food all day, cleaned his plate.

  

On to the good part, what did I do to jazz up a very basic recipe? Let me tell you. First, mix all your meatloaf ingredients (ground turkey, oatmeal, egg, tomato sauce, seasonings and sautéed vegetables-optional). Then, form into balls and place in a greased muffin tin. I made generous shaped balls and got nine- I am not sure exactly how much meat this was because I buy it in a 4 pack from Costco but I’m guessing around 1.25 lbs. This recipe should not need to be adjusted for one pound but I’m not positive. If you made smaller balls you could probably get 12.  


Next, push each cube of Mozarella into the turkey and cover the cheese with the meat. Finally, spoon tomato sauce over your “cupcakes” to frost them. Set aside the rest of the tomato sauce for later (make sure not to contaminate your sauce with the turkey since you will be serving the sauce with your meatloaf). 

 
Bake at 350 for about 40 minutes until cooked through.  

  
Heat left over tomato sauce and serve. I always love my meatloaf with mashed potatoes and green beans. Tonight I threw in a fresh fruit salad because that’s what’s great about spring!

  
Mmmm. Delicious! 

   
Mozarella Filled Meatloaf Cupcakes

Ingredients:

  • 1.25 lb ground turkey 
  • 3/4 cup oatmeal
  • 1 egg
  • 1 can plain tomato sauce
  • 2 tbsp Italian seasoning (I like costco’s organic no salt seasoning)
  • 1-2 tsp minced garlic to taste
  • 1/2 onion finely chopped (optional)
  • 1/2 bell pepper finely chopped (optional)
  • 1 tbsp oil of choice
  • 8 oz Mozarella cubed into 9-12 pieces 

Preheat the oven to 350*. Grease muffin tin.

Step 1 (optional): If you’re using onion and pepper, sauté them in about 1 tbsp of oil until soft. 

Step 2: Mix turkey, oatmeal, egg, 1/2 cup plain tomato sauce, Italian seasoning, garlic, and sautéed vegetables in a bowl with your hands until well combined and form into balls. Place balls in a greased muffin tin.

Step 3: Create a small hole in the middle of the turkey, push the cubed Mozarella into the center and cover with meat. Frost each cupcake with about 1 tbsp of tomato sauce. Set the remaining sauce aside. 

Step 4: Bake at 350 for about 40 minutes until the turkey is cooked through. Heat remaining tomato sauce and serve on the side. 

Enjoy!  

Let me know if you tried this recipe and liked it!

2 thoughts on “Mozarella Filled Meatloaf Cupcakes

    • Oh I want to try stuffed peppers soon- not sure if anyone else will eat them in my family but I will 😊. I used fresh Mozarella from Costco but I bet it would be good with muenster or cream cheese too!

Leave a Reply

