Turkey Burgers with Parmesan Wedges

 Okay, I really like cooking. And, I love cooking good food. These burgers were to die for and an awesome summer meal. I make the potato wedges all the time but I recently learned a new secret for making them wonderfully crispy and tasty: starch. You can use corn starch but for some reason they don’t sell unmodified cornstarch at my local grocery so I always just pick up potato starch. 

  1. Tonight, I wanted a relatively easy meal and I had just bought ground turkey from Costco (read I have a few more meals with ground turkey left!). It was raining out so I knew there was no firing up the grill but burgers are still easy and juicy just cooked in a skillet, throw on some cheese and sautéed mushrooms and you’ve got a gourmet looking burger with not too much work. 

 
You don’t need much to make these burgers. Turkey cooks up great plain. If you want to throw in a little spice (like kirkland’s organic no salt seasoning that I talk about a lot) all the better but don’t overdo it. For tonight’s burgers, I used about 1 tsp of garlic powder and onion powder, and maybe 2 tsp of paprika, and 1/2 tsp of ground cumin. Then I added about 1/4 cup of shredded Parmesan. Before I pan fried them, I threw the potatoes in the oven at 400 degrees (see below). Fry them for about 20-30 minutes covered on medium- medium high heat, making sure to flip them once and flatten them with a spatula to squeeze all the grease out, which also makes them more flavorful. The burgers are done when they’re slightly caramelize do on each side and no longer pink (I always cut one in half to make sure when cooking turkey because of the risk of salmonella with raw meat). While the burgers were frying, I sautéed some sliced Bella mushrooms in about 1 tbsp of Kelly Gold butter. You could also do some onions if you like that sort of thing (who doesn’t?). Just before removing from heat, top with cheese of your choice. I used muenster and it was delicious. I used Swiss and Colby jack for my minions and left a naked burger for A- she doesn’t like cheeseburgers- is she my kid??

 

Before I fried up the burgers I preheated the oven to 400 degrees. I cut about 6 medium sized Yukon gold potatoes into wedges. I tossed them in avacado oil, potato starch, paprika, dill, parsley, garlic powder, and Parmesan cheese. Spread them on a baking sheet in a single layer. Bake for about 20-30 minutes, turning twice. Check periodically to make sure they’re not burning. The Parmesan will turn a golden brown and that’s fine. Turn the oven off when they’re finished and leave them until you’re ready to serve. 

Garnish your burger with mustard, ketchup, mayo, sautéed veggies, lettuce, tomatoes, pickles…well you get the idea! 

 
I served mine up with fresh fruit and broccoli and it was amazing.  

 
Turkey Burgers:

Ingredients:

  • 1 lb ground turkey
  • Spices to taste (see above for what I used) 
  • 1/4 cup shredded Parmesan cheese (optional)
  • 1 tbsp butter (if sautéing vegetables)
  • 1/2 lb sliced mushrooms
  • Small onion- sliced
  • 4 Cheese slices of choice
  • 4 whole wheat hamburger buns
  • Various sauces and toppings

Sautée vegetables in 1 tbsp butter over medium heat.

Mix turkey, spices, and Parmesan. Form in to four patties. Heat a non-stick skillet (or lightly greased stainless steal pan) to medium heat and add the burgers. You may need to increase heat to achieve desired browning. Flip once (after about 15 minutes) and flatten with a spatula. 

When the burgers are finished (no longer pink in the middle), add one slice of cheese to each burger. Cover until melted. Garnish with sautéed vegetables, sauces, and other toppings. 

Parmesan Wedges

Ingredients:

  • 6 medium Yukon gold potatoes
  • 2 tbsp high heat cooking oil
  • 2 tbsp potato or corn starch
  • 2 tsp paprika
  • 2 tsp parsley
  • 2 tsp dill
  • 1 tsp garlic powder
  • 3 tbsp grated Parmesan 
  • Salt to taste

Preheat oven to 400. Wash and cut potatoes into wedges. Place in a bowl and toss in oil, sauces, and cheese. Spread in a single layer on a baking sheet. Cook about 20- 30 minutes until brown. Flip once about half way through. Check often towards the end for desired browness and to ensure they don’t burn. 

Enjoy! 

As always, let me know if you try this and love it as much as we do! 

One thought on “Turkey Burgers with Parmesan Wedges

Leave a Reply

