Home-made Turkey Sloppy Joes

 
We have had a busy couple of days- errands for Saturday, Father’s Day Sunday (which we spent most of finishing our chip board album for daddy), pictures last night (if you’re looking for someone in the Winchester area I really liked Memories by MP), and a play date and trip to tour a local gym today.  

   What fun but wow we’re wiped out. 

  
Tonight, I needed to use up the last package of ground turkey from our last Costco run- I usually freeze half so we don’t end up eating so much ground turkey but I guess I’ve been enjoying the change from chicken (I’m allergic to beef and pork and A got sick off steak recently so we are newly completely mammal free). I’m not going to write a whole new recipe for this one because I did a lot of throwing a little of that and some of that in and I didn’t really keep track. But, I’ll tell you how I deviated from this recipe from Diana over at My Humble Kitchen

First, I used a whole 15 oz can of tomato sauce instead of the paste.  

 Next, I sautéed my onions and peppers in about 1 tbsp of avacado oil separate from the ground turkey.  

 After the veggies were softened I added a little more oil and some chopped mushrooms. Right before I added the tomato sauce, I added about 1 tsp of minced garlic. 

My last substitution was 2 tbsp or so brown sugar and 1 tbsp of molasses instead of 1/4 cup honey. It was not overly sweet which was nice. I mixed all the ingredients for the sloppy joe together and then added the meat. This creates two separate pans to wash so really I could have done it the other way but I prefer to cook the meat separate from the veggies.  


Voila, yummy healthy sloppy joes. I may never buy Manwhich again- this was so easy!  

And, what do you think I served with it??  

 Yep, those would be my potato wedges though I skipped the Parmesan tonight. Mmmm. We’ve had a lot of potatoes and ground turkey- welcome to the reality of Costco shopping. 

As always, let me know if you try it and like it! 

Leave a comment